• Peer-Review_banner

Peer Review Process

The NBCF peer review process is integral to supporting the best breast cancer research in Australia. The effectiveness and sustainability of the peer review processes depends on scientific and consumer reviewers with wide-ranging expertise in cancer research, who have donated their time to ensuring the efficacy of this process. Please find the consumer engagement resource document here.

NBCF has privileged access to some of the best scientific minds on a volunteer basis. NBCF monitors the research landscape to ensure that the grant categories address current and relevant needs and priorities in breast cancer research.

To ensure integrity, accountability and transparency when awarding funds, NBCF coordinates a rigorous peer review process. An open and competitive call is issued for each of our grants. Applications are reviewed by external Peer Review Committees and our Research Advisory Committee (RAC). The recommendations made by the RAC are then submitted to the NBCF Board for approval.

Peer Review Process Explained

Scientific Peer Reviewers (2017)

Prof Alejandro LopezProf Christine ClarkeA/Prof Jennifer StoneProf Robert Baxter
Prof Alex DobrovicProf David VauxDr Jocelyn LippeyProf Sandra O'Toole
Dr Andrew DeansDr Delphine MerinoDr Kara BrittDr Sean McGee
Dr Andrew HoyProf Dietmar HutmacherProf Kirill Alexandrov
A/Prof Sherene Loi
Prof Anna deFazioProf Emma WhitelawDr Kylie WagstaffProf Stephen Fox
Prof Bogda KoczwaraDr Ewa MichalakProf Lyn GriffithsA/Prof Therese Becker
Dr Brendan KennedyA/Prof Geraldine O'NeillProf Nehmat HoussamiProf Uwe Ackermann
Dr Cameron BrackenProf Greg MontheithDr Normand PouliotA/Prof Wendy Ingman
Dr Carmela RicciardelliProf Ian CampbellDr Pascal Duijf
Prof Carolyn MountfordDr Janet MartinA/Prof Phil Darcy

Consumer Peer Reviewers (2017)

Ms Cathy LucasMs Debbie DochertyMs Jill YatesMs Patricia Hancock
Ms Cheryl GrantMr Denis HillDr Leonie YoungMr Robert Lutton
Mr David SynnottMs Jane BennettMs Lisa VaccaroMs Vanessa Smith